Restoring the Broken

I have a beautiful Waterford vase that I rarely use. My husband actually won it at – yep, you guessed it – a golf tournament. This thing is big and heavy and cut lead crystal – it’s something I picture my grandmother using at a tea for her friends alongside her freshly polished silver…

 photo

I have two reasons I don’t use it very much. First, the amount of fresh flowers needed to fill it equates to spending a bunch of time, money and effort – none of which I seem to have an overabundance of at this stage of life. But the second reason is for some reason I can just picture my sons (1 legit, 2 others that think they live here) knocking it over or accidentally hitting it with a golf club as they take practice swings in my house. Or maybe my psycho kitty will run full force into it as she spies a squirrel on the other side of the window.

I see it on the floor, in a million pieces, broken. No chance that even 3 tubes of gorilla glue would make it perfect again.

So many people are living broken, jagged lives. Disappointments, hurts and worries break us apart until we are lying on the floor, shattered into large and small pieces of a life that we just can’t put back together.

Oh friends, that’s exactly why you need a close relationship with the one true Healer. I’ve just returned from Church of the Highlands’ LIFE retreat and I watched broken life after broken life be put back together through faith and the power of Jesus. He does not want you living as a shattered soul – He wants you to have victory over your past, over your present sufferings.

But you can’t do it alone.

You need Him.

And He will do an amazing work in your life if you let Him. See he won’t restore you to your old self with gorilla glue – nope He has the power to turn you into someone NEW, someone FRESH, someone BEAUTIFUL.

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!” (2 Corinthians 5:17) Jesus can and will “bestow on them a crown of beauty instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, and a garment of praise instead of a spirit of despair.” (Isaiah 61:3)

Take one step today towards you crown of beauty. For some it may be asking Him to be Lord of your life. For some it may be acknowledging your sin and repenting. And for others it may be trusting that He is who He says He is and He will deliver on His promises.

We are not meant to live as broken people but as beautiful children of God – whole, restored, beautiful children of the risen King.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

Leave a Reply

