What is Wrong with These People?

I’ve said before I don’t listen to the news much – I catch the national news once or twice a week and really only watch the local news to catch the weather.  (Yes, I know there are apps for that so just stop all the jokes…)

When I watch the news it seems to be all bad news.  Young girls being kidnapped in Nigeria.  The owner of an NBA team harboring racist opinions.  A Heisman trophy winner stealing crab legs out of a Publix…

 news

As I watch the news I’m constantly asking (usually to no one but my pets in the room) “What is wrong with these people?”

In the past I really didn’t have a good answer.  In my mind “these people” were dumb, ignorant or just plain mean.  But recently I’ve been answering my own question. (Which, BTW I think is the fist sign of senility…)

They don’t know Jesus.

Gosh it sounds so simple.   Could the answer to my question really be that easy?

Yep.  It can.

Because if all these people knew and loved Jesus, people wouldn’t be kidnapping 300 young girls and selling them into sex slavery for as little as $12 a head.  They would love people of all colors, not just the ones who look like they do.  They wouldn’t steal things for which they didn’t pay.

Jesus said, “If you love me, you’ll obey my commandments.”  (John 14:15)  “One of the teachers of the law…asked him, ‘Of all the commandments, which is the most important?’ ‘The most important one,’ answered Jesus, ‘is this: …Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.  The second is this:  Love your neighbor as yourself.  There is no commandment greater than these.’”  (Mark 12:28-31)

All I know is that if everyone followed those two commandments I could quit asking and answering myself “What is wrong with these people?” while watching the daily news.  I know it’s not going to happen until Jesus comes back, so until that day I will hold on to Revelation 22:20:

“He who testifies to these things says, ‘Yes, I am coming soon.’
Amen.  Come, Lord Jesus.” 

And let it be today.

Blessings for a wonderful weekend!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

 

Leave a Reply

