What was I Thinking?

I envy deep thinkers.  I get this visual of deep thinkers sitting around in a comfy leather chair, book in one hand, perhaps a pipe like my grandfather had in another.  They stop reading from time to time and ponder what they’ve read perhaps for a few minutes or maybe a few hours as the small puff of smoke from their pipes encircles the empty air above their super sized brains.  Either way, deep thinkers’ brows furrow until they come to a place of reason and understanding and they grace the empty library in their home with a one sentence, very profound, deep thought.  Then the muscles in their faces relax, and they resume their reading, ready at any time to stop, ponder, resume.

Me?  In case you haven’t picked up on this little tidbit – I’m NOT a deep thinker.  Thoughts pop into my head until the next one takes the first thought’s place, and that’s usually around 2 or 3 seconds.  I hop from one idea to the next in my brain like a ball hitting the flippers of a pinball game.

 Pinball

Ruh-Ro, Rooby Roo!

I think what I envy about deep thinkers (yes people, I know envy is a sin) is the assumption that they have this abundance of free time on their hands, time meant only for solving the world’s most complex problems.

Better them than me.  I’m just trying to solve what I’m gonna cook for dinner tonight.

And you know what? God didn’t make me a deep thinker.  Maybe He’s too worried that I’ll get so wound up with solving the issue of the Mpemba effect (it’s a real scientific mystery, just look it up) that I’ll forget all about my eMeals dinner of “chicken perfection” in the oven, and it will burn and be less than perfect thus interrupting the profound mystery I was on the verge of deciphering.

And you know what else?  It’s OK.  If I thought that hard all the time I’d need a constant supply of duct tape to wrap around my head to keep all the ideas from exploding out in a sea of disconnected words and solutions. And that would be ugly.  REAL ugly.

If you read 1 Corinthians chapter 12, you learn all about the beauty of our different gifts.  “Each person is given something to do that shows who God is: Everyone gets in on it, everyone benefits.  All kinds of things are handed out by the Spirit, and to all kinds of people!  The variety is wonderful:  wise counsel, clear understanding, simple trust, healing the sick, miraculous acts, proclamation, distinguishing between spirits, tongues, interpretation of tongues.  All these gifts have a common origin, but are handed out one by one by the one Spirit of God.  He decides who gets what, and when.”  (1 Corinthians 12:7-11, The Message)

God decides who gets what gift and when, and the variety is wonderful!  So God didn’t make me a deep thinker (if you want that, hop on the Ann Voskamp train), but I am gifted with thoughts and words and the ability to a voice to them.  You have gifts, too.  And it’s OK that your gifts are different from your spouse’s, mine, your friend’s – they are yours, especially designed for you from God.

And that should make us all desire to know what gift has for us so that we don’t try to be someone else and we do try to be the best “me” we can be.

God has a spiritual gift just for you.  He’s wrapped it up with a pretty paper, a big bow and your name on the tag, just waiting for you to open it up and use it for His glory.  If you don’t know what it is, pray about it.  Seek discovery through serving at your church.  But make sure you open the gift!

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

One thought on “What was I Thinking?

Leave a Reply

