No Identity

Monday I took a little field trip with my firstborn out to the local community college where she’ll be taking a few of the pesky college 101 level courses this summer before returning to Ole Miss. She needed a parking pass, had to drop a class and get a student I.D. Pretty easy stuff – if you have your stuff when you get there.

We did (thank you Jesus). But another young lady did not.

So as we walk in the library to get the student I.D. made I hear bits and pieces between a student and the librarian. It went something like this:

“So can you make me a student ID?”
“Are you a student?”
“No, but I was.”
“Student IDs are for – well, students.”
“But I was a student here and I lost my license so I need a student ID to get my driver’s license.”
“Can you use your old student ID?”
“I don’t have it. I just need a new one because they won’t give me a driver’s license without a valid ID.”
“But you would need a valid ID to register as a student.”
“So can you make me one?”

ID

I had to turn around and walk away for a minute. I started to interrupt into this lack of identification death spiral in front of me, but decided to let the conversation run its course. I figured at some point the young girl would realize the librarian wasn’t going to budge – they never do. (I can still remember my high school librarian forcing us to learn the Dewey Decimal System. Can’t remember what she threatened us with, but it must have been a really good one…)

So basically this girl had no identification. No way to prove she was who she said she was. And we all know in this day and time that presents a problem wherever you go (except to vote, which I really don’t understand…).

Anyway, driver’s license or not, student ID or none, Christians have an identity. Our identity is in Christ alone, not in our documentation, not in our wealth, not in our status, not in our looks, and definitely not in our past. None of those stamp a permanent identification on us – only when we commit our lives to Jesus do we get a permanent, eternal identification that will carry on with us to heaven.

“I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.” (Galatians 2:20)

I don’t need a “Christian VIP” or a “ Member of Highlands since 2012” card in my wallet to prove who I am. I know who I am in Christ and better yet – He knows me even without my flashing an “I’ve Been Saved” ID.  Know where your true identity lies and let the rest go.  It’s the only ID that truly matters.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

One thought on “No Identity

Leave a Reply

