Early Mornings Ain’t Pretty For Me

My husband often gets up before me. He’s either working out (for the love of all that’s good and kind), walking the dog or leaving early for work. And I’ll do just about anything not to be awakened before 6:00 a.m. It’s not my gift to get up in the 5:00 hour, be perky and function all day. I can do it, but it ain’t pretty.

On the mornings my husband rises with the sun, he’s actually extremely quiet for a 6’3”guy. He can wake up and be in stealth mode instantly, like a ninja. He carefully slinks out of the bed and very quietly walks to the bathroom to start his day. Most of the time I don’t even hear him – I wake up when my alarm goes off (AFTER 6:00 a.m.) to an empty room.

 ninja

Me? Well, I’m more like a bull in a china shop. (But since a bull is a male, I guess I’m more like a cow in a china shop in the mornings, but since no respectable southern momma would call herself a cow, I’m thinking this is a bad metaphor…)

 bull

Anyway, on the VERY RARE occasion I get up before my husband I’ll be up in the bathroom opening drawers, searching for a hair roller or a round brush, attempting to put on make-up with half open eyelids and then blasting that hairdryer that’s so loud it can literally wake the dead. I mean geez Louise it takes so much equipment (and effort) for women to get ready in the mornings (at least it does this woman – I got a lot to deal with, maintain and upgrade every day) so it’s real hard to be quiet and courteous before 6:00 in the morning.

So our early mornings are either ninja-like or bull-like. And you know what that reminded me of?

Satan.

See sometimes he slinks around, very quietly and ninja-like, and you never hear him coming until he’s in the middle of your life, stirring up trouble, doing his damage and then disappearing. It might look something like a married woman accepting an ex-boyfriend’s FB friend request on FaceBook, then they start messaging each other, disclose personal troubles and information, meet for lunch… You get the picture.

And then other times the enemy is loud and obnoxious and you are in the middle of his destruction feeling powerless to stop it. You know, the times when you are in an argument with a teenage child and he pushes your buttons until you explode in a sea of rage and razor-sharp words.

“The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy…” (John 10:10)

We often hear that God has a plan for our lives – and that is biblically true. But we must also understand that the enemy has a plan for our lives, too. We must be on guard every day, recognizing the enemy’s tactics no matter how quiet or loud he attacks us.

“The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.” (John 10:10) It doesn’t matter if satan comes at you like a ninja or a bull – recognize the attack, combat it with scripture and prayer, and live in victory over the enemy.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

One thought on “Early Mornings Ain’t Pretty For Me

  1. Pingback: The Big 7 | Christian Momma Meditations

Leave a Reply

