Charge It To My Account

I have a little running joke with my dad. I’m thinking it’s funnier to me than to him, but he seems to go along with it. See my dad is EXTREMELY handy. He has helped me paint rooms, wallpaper walls, remove wallpaper from other walls, install light fixtures, fix plumbing problems, split cable wires (don’t tell Charter), and he has built almost all the major furniture in my house. (Jealous, are you?)

So whenever he completes one of these major-time-consuming-not-so-little-or-inexpensive jobs he says,

“I’ll just put it your tab.”

He’s referring to my running tab that never gets paid. (That’s why I think it’s funnier to me than it is to him…)

Am I spoiled? ABSOLUTELY! But I shake it off by telling him I involve him in all these projects to keep his aging mind young. (He’s real appreciative of that little comment, let me just tell you.) And don’t you feel sorry for him for one minute- he loves a good project. Gets mad if I don’t include him. Starts them before I’m really ready. Gets wound up like a puppy who hasn’t been walked when he doesn’t have one going on

So I have a running tab with my dad, one that I can’t pay back and one that he wouldn’t let me pay back even if I tried.

 debt

We have a running tab with Jesus, too.

See you can never fully repay Jesus for giving you eternal life. He gives it as freely as my dad gives me his time and talent. All you have to do is repent of your sins and ask Him into your heart, to be Lord of your life. And just like that, your debt of sin is paid in full

And what really blows me away is that Jesus never runs the list of things He’s done for me looking for payment for salvation. He never gives me the “Remember, I blessed you with 2 healthy children,” or “Don’t forget you owe me for your husband’s successful business…”

He’s just not like that. He desires our love and our adoration and our obedience, but He’s not a collector of owed debt. He paid the price for our salvation once and for all, a debt that we can never repay

“Then he said, ‘Jesus, remember me when you come into your kingdom.’ Jesus answered him, ‘I tell you the truth, today you will be with me in paradise.’” (Luke, 23:42-43)

Just like that, the criminal’s sins were forgiven. In an instant everything he did wrong was made right. At that moment his past didn’t define him and he was given the gift of eternal life. Both Jesus and this criminal were facing certain death – Jesus knew that this man would never be able to repay him. But Jesus cancelled this sinner’s debt and gave him salvation anyway.

“God so loved the world, that He gave His one and only son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life.” (John 3:16)

Thank you, Jesus for canceling my debt.

Start your weekend off by listening to Man of Sorrows by Hillsong Live.  It’s one of my new found favorites!

Now my debt is paid
It is paid in full
By the precious blood
That my Jesus spilled

Now the curse of sin
Has no hold on me
Whom the Son sets free
Oh is free indeed!

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

One thought on “Charge It To My Account

Leave a Reply

