The Big 7

Not sure why God has brought this to me to write about, but as I’ve said before I don’t ask – I just try to be obedient.

The Seven Deadly Sins. Where did they come from? Who decided there were 7 and not 27? I did some research this weekend and I could give you a long and drawn out history lesson, but since it’s the end of the school year (PTL) I’ll give you the Cliff Notes version.

The seven deadly sins have been used for hundreds of years to teach Christians the big no-no’s of Christianity. The list is widely associated with the Catholic faith, although when you read them you realize the list applies to everyone, not just Catholics. Sort of like the Ten Commandments’ “Thou Shalt Nots” (a list of instructions), this list is meant to make you aware of internal issues that can cause major problems in your life if you don’t identify them, dig ‘em up and root ‘em out.

Just so we’re clear, let me run the list for you of the widely accepted big 7:

Wrath
Greed
Sloth
Pride
Lust
Envy
Gluttony

You can find those in Proverbs 6:16-19 and a more expanded list in Galatians 5:19-21. If you think about the list, it really boils down to this: Each time we commit one of the big 7 we are putting something – namely ourselves – above God.

Let me say it this way. If I am envious of my neighbor’s beach house (which ain’t a stretch for me, people) and that causes me to go get a job that pays me a ridiculous amount of money at the expense of time I should be spending with my family and makes me totally stressed out or mean momma when I’m with my family, I’ve put my needs above God’s calling on my life to be a stay at home momma. (OK people, now don’t go all women’s lib on me – this is just an example. If you mommas work outside the home that’s great. I’ve done it both ways. Remember the issue isn’t that you’re working, it’s the reason or the motivation for your working that could potentially be the issue.)

So you say fine, you’ll just steer clear of the big 7. There’s just one big problem:

You can’t steer clear of them by yourself.

As I wrote last week in Early Mornings Ain’t Pretty for Me, the enemy can attack you like a sneaky ninja or loudly as an obnoxious bull in a china shop. He can manipulate, orchestrate and cause you to hesitate just long enough to commit one of the big 7.

So the first step is to take a look in the mirror (or do what I do and pray during the middle of the night when the middle-aged no-sleep zones hit) and earnestly ask God this question:

“What am I putting above you Jesus? Show me and let’s deal with this together.”

And Jesus never disappoints. He’ll bring it to you in a gentle way so that you aren’t frightened or beat down (cause if you feel either of those you’re listening to the enemy, not Jesus) so that you two can overcome it together.

And just in case you think there’s an issue He can’t overcome, I’ve got two verses for you:

“But take heart! I have overcome the world.” (John 16:33)
and
“For nothing is impossible with God.” (Luke 1:37)

I’m not saying it’s easy – I’m saying it’s possible. Have the courage and the desire to deal with the big 7 so that you can live a life of freedom!

Blessings!
Leigh

 

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

Leave a Reply

