My Mouth is Watering

Number 6 on the list of the Big 7 hits home a little bit – gluttony. See I love food. I mean I really love, love, love to eat. My daughter is able to stop eating when she feels full which is a great discipline, especially as you age and a little more weight comes on and it settles in places you didn’t even think possible. (Yeah, my pants are a little on the snug side today – must be all that water weight…)

Me? Oh if it tastes good I’ll keep on eating it – to the point of making myself all-out miserable. (“Is anyone going to eat that last tater tot???”) And even though I have gluten intolerance, I still find plenty to pig out on (anyone remember the post on my jar of joy?) that would rank me pretty high on the “10 Most Unhealthy Mommas and The Foods They Really, REALLY Should Avoid At All Cost” list…

 Jar

And let’s face it – a lot of our day revolves around eating. We plan lunch meetings, meet for coffee and a bagel, and in the south we mommas will deliver a meal for a birth, a death and any other monumental life event that comes down the road.

We must eat to survive. But excessive overeating can lead to inactivity and eventually an untimely death. I read all sorts of articles on the causes of gluttony and possible treatments. Most experts agree that a person who eats excessively experiences a deep psychological need to protect or insulate oneself from the world that has been too harsh, too cruel up to that point. The experts also say gluttony can also be a straight up addiction to food – just as bad as an addiction to drugs or alcohol.

Deep emotional wounds separate us from God. Addictions puts something else above God. Both need to be dealt with because we only have one body, and it was paid for with the ultimate sacrifice – Jesus’ blood on the cross.

“Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your body.” (1 Corinthians 6:19-20)

God loves each one of us, no matter our size or shape, but we are to honor God with our body. It doesn’t matter if you struggle with anger or envy or gluttony – as Christians we are called to honor God with our minds and our bodies, and to seek help with any areas in which we struggle.  And like I said in some earlier posts, we won’t be able to fully live until we acknowledge our issues, repent of them and ask Jesus to help us overcome them.

So as far as gluttony goes, I’m going to try to remember that verse from 1 Corinthians the next time I pull a tray full of crispy, golden brown tater tots out of the oven…

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

Leave a Reply

