Sweet Summertime

Summer in the South is here, y’all. It’s more humid than the day before an August hurricane hits Charleston, kids are no longer being held hostage in classrooms when they could be showing off their best cannonballs at the pool and my dog refuses to go outside for longer than 2 minutes tops.

Pool

Yep, it’s summertime all right.

For all you people above the Mason-Dixon line (bless your hearts) it may not be summer yet. I still don’t see why you want to live in a place where the forecast is a high of 59 degrees on May 29th, but I get you don’t want to live where you need a Ginsu knife to cut through 14 layers of humidity just to get to your mailbox either.

Maybe it’s the heat getting to my brain today, but I think I’m going to go a little “lite” this summer on my posts. I’ve already professed NOT to be a deep thinker, so this won’t be much of a stretch for me. Summertime should be a time of rest and renewal before school gets cranked back up and we gotta start planning our tailgate menus, so I’m think I’m gonna throw out a quick Biblical truth to start your day with, and save my deeper thoughts (since they are few & far between) for later in the year.

So here goes Day 1 of Christian Momma Mediations Lite.

You were created in the image of God.

And that is not a statement to be taken lightly. “So God created man in his own image, in the image of God he created him; male and female he created them.” (Genesis 1:27)

What does that mean?  It means you are worthy. Worthy of respect, worthy of honor, worthy of life. If you’ve never felt worthy, I suggest finding a church that will help you deal with issues in your past so that you can see yourself as God sees you. Worthy.

But it also means we must treat others with respect and honor. Maybe it’s the southern momma in me, but I’m about DONE with disrespectful kids AND their parents. (My momma is cringing right now at the improper use of DONE in that last sentence. Trust me. She is.) Is it so hard to be polite and kind to others in public? A simple “thank you” or holding the door open for someone else shouldn’t be unusual – it should be the norm.

“So in everything, do to others what you would have them do to you…”(Matthew 7:12) Because guess what? YOU absolutely were created in God’s image and you are worthy. But hey – hold on now – so were THEY, which means THEY (whoever “they” may be – your cranky old aunt, an obnoxious co-worker, the slower than a turtle in molasses guy in front of you in line at the DMV) should be seen and treated as though you were looking at the image of God.

Because you are.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

Leave a Reply

