The Slip ‘N Slide

 When you live in the south in the summer, nothing sounds more fun than a good run on a Slip ‘N Slide.

 SlipNSlide

Unless you’re the momma that has to put that sucker up.

My kids LOVED that thing – and when summer rolled around I would promise to find it in the garage, unroll it, stake it in the ground, hose it down and slick it up so that they could slide and slide until they ran out of energy or someone busted their chin wide open. (By the grace of God we never needed stitches after a run on that thing.)

Now it took me awhile to make it all happen, and I’m sure my kids thought I was taking my sweet time (which, in all truth, I was).  But I did follow through with my promise, and the result was hours of fun on the front lawn (until my husband got home and was less than pleased that we had turned the front yard into a mosh pit.  But you know what?  When you have young children and hours to kill in the summer you’ll do just about anything legal to wear them out, including destroying your lawn).

Sometimes we feel like God is dragging His feet instead of immediately giving us what He has promised.  We know He has good things for us if He would just hurry up and make them happen!  When you are feeling like God is ignoring your prayers, here’s a passage of Scripture to help calm those anxious feelings:  “With the Lord a day is like a thousand years, and a thousand years are like a day.  The Lord is not slow in keeping his promise, as some understand slowness…”  (2 Peter 3:9)

God doesn’t run on our timetable, but He absolutely delivers on His promises.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

Leave a Reply

