The 10 Minute Rule

When I was little I never understood the magic of the 10 minute rule.  When my momma took us to the pool she would make us sit out for 10 minutes after we ate to make sure our food stayed down and we didn’t get cramps and so we could just “rest awhile.”

I thought that was the dumbest rule back then, but when I had my own children and took them to the pool I started using the 10 minute rule myself.  I learned quickly that the 5 minutes it took a kid to scarf down lunch plus 10 minutes of “rest” time out of the pool gave me 15 minutes of security knowing no one I’m in charge of would throw up in the shallow end or drown in the deep end. (Thank you, Jesus for 15 minutes of peace…)

Children don’t like the 10 minute rule because they are impatient.  And when’s the last time we adults enjoyed waiting in the drive-thru line wrapped twice around Chic-Fil-A?

 CFA

Uhhh, that would be never.

And heaven forbid we have to wait on God to help us when we are walking through something difficult in our lives.

“I waited patiently for the Lord; he turned to me and heard my cry.  He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; he set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand.”  (Psalm 40:1-2)

We like to focus on the part about God turning to us, hearing us, lifting us out of the slimy pit and giving us a firm place to stand.  We seem to forget our part of the verse: “I waited patiently for the Lord.”

Sometimes God makes us wait “10 minutes,” but He always keeps His promises.

But we must be willing to do our part first – patiently wait on Him.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

Leave a Reply

