Praise Him

Yesterday I had the Doxology stuck in my head and sung it (silently, of course) throughout the day. I just couldn’t get it out of my head – the Holy Spirit had obviously put it there for a reason.

Praise God, from Whom all blessings flow; 
Praise Him, all creatures here below;
 Praise Him above, ye heavenly host;
 Praise Father, Son, and Holy Ghost.

The Doxology is actually the last stanza of two longer hymns written by Thomas Ken way back in 1674. “Awake, my soul, and with the sun” and “Glory to thee, my God, this night” were written as morning and evening worship songs to be sung in private by the students of Winchester College. It’s ironic that words supposed to be kept private are now some of the most public words sung in Christian churches.

(Links to the lyrics of these hymns can be found here:  http://www.hymnary.org/text/awake_my_soul_and_with_the_sun
and http://www.hymnary.org/text/all_praise_to_thee_my_god_this_night).

Back to the Doxology. The word that is repeated over and over is PRAISE.

Praise Him in the morning, praise Him in the night. Praise God when you got it goin’ on, praise God when your whole world is falling apart. Praise Him when you wake up after a sound night’s sleep (so, so rare as I get older) and praise Him when you get up needing 3, maybe 4 cups of coffee to get going. Praise God when your child makes straight A’s and when he gets a speeding ticket.  Praise Him when you buy a new car, praise Him when you don’t know how you will pay your mortgage.

Praise

It’s not always easy to praise God, but it is a choice we make in every situation. “Oh Lord, open my lips, and my mouth will declare your praise.” (Psalm 51:15)

Make time every day to praise your Creator, your Deliverer, your Healer, your Comforter, your Provider.

Praise Him.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

One thought on “Praise Him

Leave a Reply

