No Air

No, I’m not talking about the Jordan Sparks song. My family experienced a real-life, all out 3 alarm “no air” situation Saturday night at my house.

Around 9:00 p.m. I went upstairs and though it was a might bit warm up there. Wasn’t real concerned because my children have thermostat wars – my daughter wants it a little warmer while my son would like to be able to hang meat in his closet.

Messing with the thermostat wasn’t the problem. The upstairs unit wasn’t coming on at all. And to make matters worse the downstairs unit had worked overtime until it was frozen, so it was blowing but it was sort of like feeling the hot breath of satan coming out of the vents.

thermostat

No air.

In the south.

In the summer.

I hate the feeling of knowing something is wrong and not being able to fix it, don’t you? I knew my air conditioners weren’t working but I had no idea how to fix them. I was going to need the help of an AC guy, one who would be on call on the weekend to fix the problem.

And that’s exactly how I feel when some sin gets on me and I can’t shake it. I know something is wrong but I feel like I can’t fix it on my own, I can’t breathe, I have no air. I need the help of Jesus who thankfully is ALWAYS on call (and doesn’t charge you out the nose to show up at night, on the weekends, etc…)

“He will call upon me, and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble, I will deliver him and honor him.” (Psalm 91:15)

Jesus provides the answer, the air we need to breathe and overcome. Call upon Him when you lack the knowledge, the ability, the air of life. He will deliver you from the sweatbox of sin into a place of freedom, but only if you call the One who can help you fix your problems.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

Leave a Reply

