Where’s My Schedule?

I know everybody is fired up over summer. No school, no homework, no schedule. Just loosey-goosey wake up whenever, hit a summer camp or two, eat dinner at 5:00 or 7:00 or just skip it all together and have some cereal.

Empty School

I’d rather it be summer year round instead of winter. I hate being cold and would rather sweat to death watering my plants than freeze to death staring at leafless trees covered in ice pellets. (And since my AC has been on the fritz the last few days I’ve had to eat these words in the sweatbox I call home…)

But for super-scheduling people like me, summer can throw you off – a lot. This no schedule, go here ‘n there at the drop of a hat, today I have 4 hours to myself, tomorrow I have a houseful of boys eating everything in sight and playing hours and hours of 21 in the driveway, today I cooked dinner so no one showed up to eat and tomorrow I planned nothing so all the boys stayed and are STARVING…

Well it’s enough to make an OCD, overly scheduled person like me go a little nuts. I go from having my day all planned out to being a scatter-brained ADHD person who gets nothing accomplished.

Sunday I decided I’d had enough of that. Enough of this scurrying about, unproductive gaps of time. I prayed a simple prayer, asking Jesus to reveal to me what He wants me to do each day. What is most important? Where does He want me to be? What does He want me to do?

Calm. Peace. Focus. Direction. Blessings that came from acknowledging my time is really His time and I just needed to ask Him how to make the best use of the time He has given me. “Show me your ways, O Lord, teach me your paths… He will instruct him in the way chosen for him…” (Psalm 25:4, 12)

Monday that meant hours and hours of writing. Tuesday serving at church. Wednesday sitting at home with my new BFF, Keith the AC guy. And today, that means hitting Winn Dixie to stock up on Tostitos (buy 1, get 1 free you know) and strawberry Fanta… (I know, ew. gross. I agree, but Jesus told me I’d be having some boys coming back around soon…)

Seek His plans for your day then enjoy the peace Jesus provides as you do exactly what He wants you to do, no matter how big or how small the tasks may seem.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

Leave a Reply

