A Shot in the Arm

By now you’re probably familiar with my obsession with playing tennis. I didn’t learn how to play until I turned 40, when I was determined for this old dog to learn a new trick (and of course now at age 47 age 40 doesn’t seem so old…).

And all has been well until I started noticing a little pain in my right elbow last year. Just a twinge of tendonitis, nothing to worry about. Until now. Until now that it’s nice enough to play 3 times a week and my elbow feels like it’s going to crack wide open every time I hit a forehand while my forearm is so weak I can’t pick up a Q-Tip without flinching. And forget about serving – that just ain’t happenin’ for me any time soon.

So like an idiot I went to play tennis for an hour Monday morning – the same morning I called the orthopedic clinic and made myself an appointment for what will probably be an extremely painful but beneficial cortisone shot.

 Cortisone Shot

Why do we do things we shouldn’t do – especially when we know they aren’t good for us?

To gratify the flesh. To satisfy earthly desires. To rebel against authority.

Several answers apply. But I know this – the regret that comes with doing what we know we shouldn’t do can be overwhelming, even debilitating, like the constant pain I now feel in my elbow & forearm.

Are you living with a regret (or two, or a bunch)? Like this tendonitis, it’s not going away on its own. I’m going to need the help of a doctor to alleviate the pain. And we need the help of Jesus to alleviate the feelings of regret.

“I will sprinkle clean water on you, and you will be clean; I will cleanse you from all your impurities and from all your idols. I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you…I will save you from all your uncleanness.” (Ezekiel 36:25,26,29)

I’m confident I’ll feel like I have a new elbow on Friday. And you can be confident of this – Jesus can clean out the regrets of your soul and give you a new heart and spirit if you truly seek His forgiveness and accept His grace.

(Oh and if you would pray for me on Friday that would be great. Pray it doesn’t hurt too bad, pray I don’t call my doctor ugly names, pray I don’t lose my religion when that needle goes in my elbow…)

And on that note – have a great weekend everybody!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

One thought on “A Shot in the Arm

Leave a Reply

