Constant Craving

I’m the momma of two children – one being a 15 year old boy who eats constantly. He can finish a meal and in 10 minutes look at me and say, “I’m starving.” Foods that used to be meals for him are now considered snacks. It’s unbelievable how much food that child can put away in a day.

And I’ve tried just about every snack I can think of to fill him up in between meals. Some healthy, some not so much, but nothing seems to work. I’ve tried Hot Pockets, apples with peanut butter, chips and salsa, turkey, bacon & pepperjack sandwiches, Lean Cuisines, almonds, peanut butter crackers a mound of spaghetti…

photo

And that’s just one day of “snacks.”

He craves food, constantly. Besides golf, I’m convinced it’s all he thinks about. He’ll be eating a couple of sandwiches and thinking about what he’s going to eat next before he even finishes what’s on his plate. His body needs fuel to grow (size 12 ½ shoes, thank you) and be healthy (OK, so the Hot Pockets – not so healthy, I know…), and that got me thinking –

What if I craved God’s word like my son craves food? What if it was a constant obsession, where I couldn’t finish reading a passage of scripture before I was thinking about reading more? God’s Word is so, so good and it’s the nourishment our spirits need every single day to survive and grow.

“How sweet are your words to my taste; sweeter than honey to my mouth.” (Psalm 119:103)

“When your word came, I ate them, they were my joy and my heart’s delight…” (Jeremiah 15:16)

Fill up spiritually today with God’s Word!

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

One thought on “Constant Craving

Leave a Reply

