Just a Little PT

Friday I was so thankful NOT to have needles poked into my right elbow and my left thumb. (Did I forget to mention the arthritis starting up in my left thumb?)  My doctor and I picked anti-inflammatory medicine and physical therapy as my course of treatment. Yep, I took the wimpy way out – or so I thought.

After yesterday the closest image I can relate a physical therapist to is a prison guard in ancient Rome. The kind of guard who could inflict unimaginable pain on a person – and enjoy it.

guard

Who knew that a tiny little joint in your hand could get so inflamed and swollen that a tiny touch could get me to literally jump out of the chair? Good golly, Miss Molly – I’m glad no one was videotaping my facial expressions while my PT guy was working on my thumb joint. (Oh – and my tennis elbow? Therapy on my arm was NOTHING compared to this little area in my hand.)

I know the result will be good. I’m trusting that all this pain will be worth it to get my joints and muscles to act the way they are supposed to act. I’m thankful for Tom and I trust the methods he uses – although painful – will reap huge benefits.

That experience reminded me of painful times in my life when God disciplined me for my own good. Oh there’s been plenty of discipline from Him, which of course I didn’t enjoy at the time.  (Who does?) “Our fathers discipline us for a little while as they thought best, but God disciplines us for our good, that we may share in His holiness. No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it.” (Hebrews 12:10-11)

If you are walking through something difficult, try your best to embrace the situation and instead of asking, “Why?” ask, “What are you trying to teach me, Lord?” It won’t make the situation any less painful, but it will give you a different perspective.

And then keep this verse in mind as you walk WITH Jesus, for you are not alone:
“And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are called according to His purpose.” (Romans 8:28)

Physical therapy – God’s discipline – so uncomfortable at the time, but the benefits are worth every bit of pain.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

Leave a Reply

