Pursuit of Perfection

Saturday night I was watching one of those news magazine shows on TV – I can’t even remember the name of it (the mind is the first thing to go, you know) but it was documenting women’s pursuit of perfection through plastic surgery. (Did you know Gangnam, South Korea is the plastic surgery capital of the world?)

They showed good results and results that looked like something out of horror movie. (Who in their right mind would think you could buy industrial grade silicone and inject that straight into your body???)

I’ve never had any work done but Lord knows I’ve thought about it. And I’m certainly not against plastic surgery – like many other things plastic surgery can be extremely beneficial for patients.

Unless you get addicted to it.

 Michael Jackson

I guess one of the most documented and worst case scenarios is Michael Jackson’s repeated nose jobs, but good gravy they showed a lot worse on TV Saturday night. (Exactly which cartoon character has lips like THOSE???) While watching these women purse perfection I wondered what doctor in their right mind keeps performing these dang surgeries? Can’t anyone just say, “Hey sister- take a look in the mirror. A good long look. I think you’ve had enough…”

And then I thought how sad it is that they are seeking perfection here on earth. Cause it ain’t gonna ever happen.

Sure – we can all do things to look better. (I could lose a few pounds if I would give up my jar of joy but I’m not so just don’t start on that.) But to think we will ever be perfect while here on earth is a frustrating, fruitless endeavor.

Believers know that one day we will be perfect.   We will stand before God faultless, blameless, a citizen of heaven and eternity. “For he chose us in him before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in his sight.” (Ephesians 1:4)

Obsession with perfection on earth will always lead to disappointment. But pursuing perfection in Christ should always be the goal, and thankfully it will one day be fulfilled when we take our place in eternity! 

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

Leave a Reply

