Good Morning Everybody!

Sunday morning I woke up to the most horrible noise.

My dog was gagging in the den. Oh Jesus, please no. Not on the rug. I could hear her struggling to cough up whatever sock, dishtowel or stick she had ingested who knows when. And all I could imagine as I tripped in my sheets, grabbed my glasses (I’m almost legally blind, you know), tore open my bedroom door and started running for the back door was a pile of dog throw-up on my carpet, ‘cause you know they NEVER throw up on the tile or hardwood floors.

So as I desperately try to get her outside I type in the wrong code for the house alarm, unlock the back door and shove her outside just as the DEAFENING alarm goes off at 7:16 a.m. and wakes up anyone in my neighborhood that isn’t going to their 8:00 church service.

GOOD MORNING NEIGHBORS!!!
(Sorry about that…)

When we are in a state of chaos and confusion we often make mistakes that are loud, obnoxious and can affect those around us. The enemy loves to spin his web of confusion all around us and wait for us to get tangled up so that he can pounce on us with his poison like a spider does to a fly, causing us to make hasty decisions with detrimental consequences.

 Spider

The first step in untangling yourself from the web of the enemy is to remember that confusion and chaos does not come from God, and the second is to combat the situation with scripture. Both can be done if you memorize this verse: “For God is not a God of disorder but of peace.” (1 Corinthians 14:33)

Then take a minute to slow down and breathe. Pray through the situation. Seek God’s wisdom and intervention instead of barreling through the problem on your own. (Yeah I can be the proverbial pot calling the kettle black on that one.) God promises clarity and understanding when we do, and He always delivers on His promises: “If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him.” (James 1:5)

Don’t make a hasty decision out of panic. Stop, pray, breathe, seek and receive God’s wisdom in every situation.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

Leave a Reply

