The Barbie House

When my daughter was four I asked my dad to build her a Barbie house for Christmas. I just didn’t like any of the plastic ones I saw when I went to the 7th level of hell – Toys R Us. (The 6th level would be Chuckie Cheese…)

I knew Pop would do a much better job than the ones I saw in stores. He was living in Birmingham at the time and we were in Atlanta so I couldn’t view the house as it was being built. I started getting a little concerned when The Nana frequently called me with comments such as:

This Barbie house is taking on a life of its own…
I don’t think you understand how big this Barbie house is becoming…
He’s trying to find little lights for the outside sconces…

And I kept telling her it would be fine – I mean how massive could this thing be?

Massive enough that we needed my husband’s Suburban to transport it. Massive enough that when we moved to Auburn we had to find a house with a playroom big enough to house it.

You see Pop bought a Barbie doll so that he could build a two-story house to her specifications, meaning she could walk through the front door and stand up in her house, walk around and have a big time without ever having to hunch over. The house had a den, a kitchen and an awesome master suite on the top floor. And it had lights, too – real, working lights that could be turned on and off room by room. (I am thankful he didn’t decide to make the plumbing come to life…)

Barbie House

Pop produced a Barbie house WAY beyond my expectations. My daughter spent HOURS and HOURS and HOURS behind the house – it was one of the greatest gifts she could ever receive but never imagined was coming her way.

I asked Pop for one thing and was blessed with much more. And sometimes I have to remind myself that God can do so much more than I can imagine. “Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine…” (Ephesians 3:20)

“Immeasurably more.” As in I can’t measure how much God can do. I try to limit a limitless God with my simple knowledge and limited understanding. Only when I let go of my expectations and accept His sovereignty do I receive blessings beyond what I ask or imagine.

“Immeasurably more.” That’s exciting stuff, people! Let go of your expectations and let Him do immeasurably more than you can ever imagine. 

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

Leave a Reply

