Something Better

When I was in high school I thought I wanted to go to a hoity-toity school. I had good grades, lots of activities on the ‘ol high school resume, and friends in the class above me had gone on to Harvard and Yale. My parents took me to visit Duke and yep – that’s where I wanted to go to college.  (Never mind how in the world I thought my parents would pay for that.  I didn’t even give it a first OR a second thought in my self-centered teenager brain.)

 Duke

And I thought I’d get in. I thought it would be a slam dunk based on my grades and activities.

It wasn’t.

I can still remember opening the rejection letter from Duke. I remember literally wailing on my bed thinking my life was over and I’d never amount to anything because I didn’t get into the school I wanted.  (OK, so I acted like a spoiled brat.  What teenager doesn’t when they don’t get what they think they are entitled to???)

Looking back on it now, I know God was protecting me from failing out of school. See I thought I was smart in high school, but then I went to college and realized how hard it is and how many REALLY smart kids are out there. If I had gone to Duke I seriously think I would have failed out. And I never would have lived with my roommate at Auburn who dragged me to a Christmas break job where I met my husband (which is a GREAT story for another day).

I was so disappointed over one situation not happening like I thought it should. I know God was trying to get me to hear Him say, “If you’ll just hang on I’ve got something better planned for you.”

But I wasn’t listening.

Disappointment is a tough horse pill to swallow (kind of like those fish oil capsules. What’s up with the megapill anyway?).   When we are in the middle of self-pity it’s almost impossible to trust in His plan for our lives, to truly believe He has a better plan for us. And if we don’t trust Him we worry about the outcome. And we can be bitter if the situation doesn’t turn out like we think it should.

As I heard on the radio the other day, “Worry is believing God won’t get it right. Bitterness is believing God got it wrong.”   Ouch.

Look at what happens when we choose to trust in God’s plan for our lives: “But blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord, whose confidence is in him. He will be like a tree planted by the water that sends out its roots by the stream. It does not fear when heat comes; its leaves are always green. It has no worries in a year of drought and never fails to bear fruit.” (Jeremiah 17:7-8)

Trusting in God’s plan for you will help you grow strong. You will not fear when problems come and you will be able to bear fruit even in times of mental, physical or even spiritual drought.

God’s plan > Leigh’s plan. Every. Single. Time. 

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

And if you like what you read, please share with others!  God told me to write for Him and my goal is to spread the gospel with a bit of humor and a lot of grace.

2 thoughts on “Something Better

  1. I heard Robin Roberts say in an interview: “God answers “yes,” “not yet,” or “I’ve got something better in mind.” It’s all about our perspective. Great post.

Leave a Reply

