GM of the Universe

Yesterday we had a guest pastor preach, Pastor Greg Surratt. We are in the middle of the book of James, and his task was to preach on the will of God.

the-book-of-james

People always want to know what the will of God is for their lives. Pastor Surratt delivered a great message on that topic, but I took away something else – what the will of God is not.

I was rocking right along with his message but came to full attention when Pastor Surratt said, “Quit trying to be the General Manager of the Universe.”

As my daddy would say, “You just quit preachin’ and gone to meddlin’.”

I’m a southern momma. Being GM of the universe is in my job description just under “Psychoanalyze adolescent brains” and “Have knowledge of all lost, misplaced, once unwanted but now desperately needed items of all members of your family.”

I mean, come on. If I don’t control everything, who will???

He went on to say that stress is what you feel when you try to take control over things which you have no authority. (You know, like the universe.)  Hmmmm….  Had to chew on that for a few minutes because southern mommas are supposed to have authority over everything, right???

Nope.  Not even close.  I think the people sitting behind me might have been blinded by the stream of light coming from the big ‘ol light bulb coming on above my head.

I just have to say this southern momma felt a little lighter, a little more free last night. Sure, I still have responsibilities and roles, but last night I realized how small they are in comparison to God’s job. It’s freeing to know He’s in control of every situation, both good and bad, small and ginormous. As Pastor Surratt said, “Nothing catches God by surprise. He’s already working on a solution before you know there’s a problem.” Well amen to that!

“’For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,’ declares the Lord. ‘As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.’” (Isaiah 55:8-9)

This southern momma needs to remember on a daily basis she ain’t the General Manager of the Universe. I’m just thankful I serve the one and only God who is.

Watch Pastor Greg Surratt’s full message here:  http://www.churchofthehighlands.com/media/message/finding-gods-will.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

2 thoughts on “GM of the Universe

  1. I just love the way your blogs come over. Laid back and comfortable, easy to read BUT a lot harder to forget that we are not the GM of the universe, we serve a mighty GOD, and He will get our attention through all kinds of ways.

    Blessings
    Alex.

Leave a Reply

