Halfway There

The older I get the more I hear myself saying, “I can’t believe it’s already __________.” As in, I can’t believe it’s already 2014. I can’t believe football season is so close. I can’t believe I have a sophomore in high school and in college. I can’t believe it’s already July.

 July

It’s as if I’m traveling at supersonic warp speed barreling through time and winding up in the future before the present has really settled in.

When I was a little girl staying at my grandmother’s house or even my great-grandmother’s house during the summer (can you even imagine that today?), time seemed to crawl slowly by, like a turtle wading through peanut butter. No 24/7 Disney Channel, no iPads, no video games. Usually just me and the ‘ol noggin full of imagination (i.e. azalea soup…).

So today is July 1, and we’re halfway through the year. The summer solstice has occurred and the days will gradually get shorter, football season is right around the corner (thank you, Jesus), and we’ll move to Thanksgiving and on into Christmas and before you know it I’ll be saying, “I can’t believe it’s already 2015.”

So this morning I took a few minutes to rehash the first half of my year. Was I productive or wasteful? A servant or a sucker of someone else’s energy? A worrier or one who trusts?  I prayerfully asked Jesus to reveal both the good and the not-so-good, the highs and the lows, the “let’s keep those going,” and the “we need to change that up a bit” moments.

And then I took a few minutes to think about the second half of the year coming up and seek God’s will for that time. By focusing on God’s will, not my overly organized, color-coded plans on my calendar, I take away the assuming on my end that I know what’s going to happen tomorrow – or even today – and put the focus back on the only one who does know – the General Manager of the Universe.

“Now listen, you who say, ‘Today or tomorrow we will go to this or that city, spend a year there, carry on business and make money.’ Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow…Instead, you ought to say, ‘If it is the Lord’s will, we will live and do this or that.’” (James 4:13, 15)

You’ve got 6 months left in 2014. What do you want them to look like? More importantly, what does Jesus want them to look like?

Ask Him and find out.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

Leave a Reply

