The Highlight Reel

Let me see if I can paint an accurate picture of my day yesterday…

6:30 a.m. Wake up, get coffee, have my quiet time (I was gonna need that time with Jesus later).
7:40 a.m. Get phone call from my daughter who had a flat tire on the way to school.
7:45 a.m. Throw on clothes, brush my teeth (but forget to brush my hair), pick up daughter and drive her to class. Call AAA on the way.
8:15 a.m. Arrive at my friend’s house where my daughter parked her car and catch up with my friend while waiting on AAA.
8:35 a.m. Watch AAA guy change the tire. Realize my hair looks like a bird’s nest.

flat-tire-76563_640

9:15 a.m. Eat a GF bagel which is only slightly tastier than a piece of thick cardboard.
9:30 a.m. Take son to golf course.
9:45 a.m. Arrive home to see water spewing at the front of the house. Assume newly driver-permitted son ran over a sprinkler head.   Realize teenager-brain son left the hose on all night and it has exploded.
10:30 a.m. Leave to pick up cake for church staff. Hair still looks like a bird’s nest but at least is now in a stylish “messy bun.”
11:00 a.m. Get to church to do 2 hours worth of stuff in 30 minutes.
11:45 a.m. Leave church late to pick up my daughter from school.
11:46 a.m. Get locked out of church with a friend because the staff is all at a birthday lunch. Spend a few minutes on the phone locating staff, keys, etc.
11:48 a.m. Open car door to get in and watch as a wasp flies in my car. (SERIOUSLY???)
11:50 a.m. Wasp finishes surveying the inside of the car. I leave 10 minutes late to go pick up my daughter from school.

I think I’ll stop there because I can just promise you the day didn’t get any better. You get the picture. It was definitely one of THOSE days. Have you ever had one? Sure you have. And I’d like to tell you I was all “God is in control” and “I’m at peace with these situations” and “See how easy this is” yesterday but let me be real for a minute. I just about hyperventilated SEVERAL times, because I’m a color-coded calendar, this is what I’m gonna do today kind of girl. And NONE of that was on the calendar.

Sometime mid-afternoon between going to Target for cheap Oreos and Target brand salsa and Publix for the rest of my groceries I started laughing at myself. Could have been the first sign of a nervous breakdown, but it wasn’t. It was yesterday’s verse replaying in my head as I drove behind a truck going 18 mph in a 45 zone (come on, buddy – didn’t you see the speed limit sign?):

“Now listen, you who say, ‘Today or tomorrow we will go to this or that city, spend a year there, carry on business and make money.’ Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow…Instead, you ought to say, ‘If it is the Lord’s will, we will live and do this or that.” (James 4:13, 15)

See it’s one thing for me to write about it. It’s another to live it. No I didn’t handle every situation with genteel southern momma grace, but I will say I found myself thanking Jesus frequently yesterday. (Thank you Jesus that the flat tire happened in town and not on the highway in the middle of nowhere. Thank you that someone is trying their best to create edible GF food. Thank you Jesus it was just a hose and not the sprinkler system. Thank you that I we both had keys and wallets when we got locked out. Thank you the wasp didn’t sting me!)

So no, I didn’t win the calm, cool, collected Christian of the day award, but at least I had moments of gratitude in the midst of a crazy, chaotic, unplanned, expensive day (did I mention the tire couldn’t be fixed and we had to buy a new one???), so I’m gonna at least give myself an A for effort.

And one more thank you – thank you Jesus for making me walk the walk. It’s not always easy, but it’s easi-ER knowing He’s with me every minute of every day.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

Leave a Reply

