A New Perspective

(Written Sunday morning)

By the time I post this we will know if Lucy made it out of surgery or not. As I sit and write this on Sunday morning I am thankful for a new perspective.

I’ve prayed for Lucy, my husband and my children a lot over the weekend. And although I can’t quite explain it, a definite peace has taken up residence in my spirit. I’m choosing to believe in her recovery even though I know the odds. I’m choosing to trust God in this situation and He has blessed me with an inner peace I can’t understand. In other words, I’m living proof of Philippians 4:6-7:“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

 

Peaceful Lake

Today is now Tuesday as I add to this post. As it turns out, God gave us our first miracle. The 12 pound, 10 ounce tumor was removed after a 3 hour surgery. Dr. Dan did an amazing job and I’m thankful for his God-given talent, skill and compassion. She’s not out of the woods yet – she still has to recover from a pretty extensive surgery and we are waiting to find out if the tumor is benign. But we’ve cleared the first major hurdle, and I’m still believing in her recovery.

And let me just say I know that to a lot of people a dog is just a dog. And we’re not crazy dog people (we don’t dress her up in a tu-tu for Halloween or anything like that) but we are pet people. I believe God loves animals – look at all the different kinds of animals he created!   And I believe God but pets in our lives to love and take care of and enjoy, if you are a pet kind of person. This situation reminded me as I prayed for her to pray for all the people asking for miracles for husbands, wives, children, parents, etc. because I know in comparison to people a dog is down on the list.

But she’s on my list.

And I’m hopeful that as someone out there in cyberland reads this, you will know that you can trust Jesus with EVERYTHING – big and small. He already knows the problems and heartaches you will face. He already knows the outcomes of all situations. He already knows how much you need Him…

When will you choose to know Jesus? Don’t let it take a big-time scare or a tragedy to run to Him. Run to Him in the good times. Trust Him when things are going great. When you start there, it’s almost automatic to trust Him when life stinks.

Run to Him. Know Him. Trust Him.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

One thought on “A New Perspective

Leave a Reply

