Reading Comprehension

My son is going to be a sophomore in high school. He’ll be taking the most important test of his 15 year old life at the end of the year – that’s right, the dreaded ACT.

Let’s be clear about the ACT – it isn’t about what you know, it’s about what they want you to know and how fast you can fill in the little bubbles on your scantron sheet.

 ACT

So we’re opting for tutoring in math and reading comprehension prior to his taking the ACT, rather than taking it and then getting some tutoring. I’ve learned some hard lessons about this dang test with my first child, and I’m bound and determined we’re going to conquer this mountain the second time around. (And by conquer, I mean I’m praying my son scores high enough the first time he takes it so we won’t continue to throw $50 down the black hole known as the ACT test.)

So as I was explaining all this tutoring business to my son on the way to a golf tournament this week he says, “But Mom I won’t need to read and comprehend when I’m on the PGA tour.”

At least he has a life goal.

But please Lord, let him be kidding.

I pulled him back into the conversation by telling him he better be able to read and comprehend his endorsement contracts (score one for momma’s quick thinking). He seemed a little more engaged at that point.

So many times I feel exactly like this with Scripture. I read a passage and don’t really seem to need it at that specific time, but later on I need those exact verses because my circumstances have changed.

“…so is my word that goes out from my mouth; It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.” (Isaiah 55:11)

Often times we don’t realize God is preparing our spirit for a later time in our lives. Today I read a verse that I had underlined a long time ago, Psalm 71:14 – “But as for me, I will always have hope; I will praise you more and more.” When I underlined it originally I must have simply liked the verse in general, because it doesn’t seem to spark a certain memory. But it resonated with me so deeply today because I’ve lived it out this week. I still have hope my sweet dog will be OK. And as I’ve prayed for her I’ve continued to praise God for all of the blessings I’ve experienced during this crazy week.

So if I could just throw out a piece of advice – don’t skip out on the time you should spend reading Scripture – one day you’re gonna need that reading comprehension.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

Leave a Reply

