The 20%

I posted on FB over the weekend that yep, indeed – my sweet Lucy dog is in the 20% of miracle dogs! The tumor was a benign weird thing that is usually caused if a dog has been hit by a car, fallen down hard or been injured. Lucy hadn’t experienced any of those things – I mean, she isn’t going to chase a car because she prefers to ride in one while the air conditioner blows her ears backwards, and the likelihood of her being injured is about 0% since she rarely goes outside (she just doesn’t seem to understand that she’s a dog, not a person – please don’t miss where she puts her right arm every time she goes for a ride).

 IMG_2341

So the family was all excited and she was, too – although I’m sure she doesn’t know why we were all so excited. But when a group of people start talking in high pitch voices and scratch and rub her until she’s in a coma, does she really care the reason?

So I’m here to tell you that yes, God still performs miracles. And as my pastor said Sunday in his message, it isn’t my job to doubt or ask why this dog got a miracle and another person didn’t. My job is to have faith God can do miracles and believe He still does miracles. “Your ways, O God, are holy. What god is so great as our God? You are the God who performs miracles; you display your power among the peoples.” (Psalm 77:13, 14)

I don’t understand a lot of what goes on in this world – that’s for sure. And as I declared last week, that ain’t my job because I’m not the General Manager of the Universe (see? I’m making progress!). But I do understand this: questioning and doubting God takes up a lot of valuable time and precious energy, and as I get older I realize how both of those are in short supply (especially when I wake up at 5:40 and can’t go back to sleep).

Soooo…. since I’m not GMOTU, what is my job?

To have faith. Pray. Believe. Trust.

And rejoice when blessed with the 20%!

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

One thought on “The 20%

Leave a Reply

