Me & Paul

I’m beginning to feel a little like Paul.

In 2 Corinthians chapter 12 Paul says, “there was given me a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me.” (v. 7)

 rose thorn

I feel ya’, brother Paul.

I’ve been struggling with this nagging, aggravating, annoying, never-ending tendonitis for weeks now. I thought satan had jabbed a literal rose thorn in my elbow when I woke up at a dang 4:45 this morning, my arm throbbing with pain.  I couldn’t even stretch it all the way out it was so knotted up and stiff.  I mean, how dare I actually work on my computer for a couple hours yesterday afternoon and expect a decent night’s sleep?  What in heaven’s name was I thinking?

We don’t know exactly what Paul’s “thorn” was.  It could have been an actual thorn. It could have been an acute attack of diverticulitis or a tumor or who knows what ailment, or it could have been a sin he struggled with. Paul was a pretty tough guy though, so I’m thinking it was something much worse than tendonitis.

Nonetheless, Paul continues:  “Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me.” (v. 8)

Let me be honest here.

I’ve pleaded with the Lord WAY MORE than 3 times to take it away.  I’ve even tried to bargain with Him on several occasions (You know, Jesus I can’t type my blog that glorifies you if I CAN’T TYPE…).

Both Paul and I pleaded with God to take our thorns away.  And guess what?  We both got the same answer:

“But he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’”  (v. 9)

So you know what that means to me?  If God wants me to keep writing, He’ll give me the loosened up right arm to type, or he’ll provide another method of writing for me.  And if He doesn’t – He’ll tell me what He wants me to do next.

So today I’m typing.  (I’ve taken a lot of Advil, but I’m typing.) “Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.  That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties.  For when I am weak, then I am strong.” (v. 10)

So like Paul, I will boast about the fact that I can type a little today, seeing as how I thought I’d rather have someone cut my arm off this morning.  For when I am weak, I can boast of how Jesus can still accomplish His work, and the glory will be His – all His.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

Leave a Reply

