Just Try It

Trying to get your children to try new foods can be a bit tricky – no matter what their age. When mine were younger I instituted the “just try it once” rule. They had to try whatever was on their plate just once. If they totally hated it, I wouldn’t make them eat it again. (I mean, who wants to be forced to eat little English green peas over and over? Not this family.)

I’ll estimate 95% of the time they actually liked whatever it was they were picking apart and scrutinizing on their plates. Now I did have one huge backfire when my daughter was 2 years old. I had prepared scalloped potatoes (no, not from scratch – I worked full time then so I can promise you they were straight out of Betty Crocker’s kitchen) and I followed the just try it once rule at dinner that night.

 betty crocker

As she started to chew them I could see by the look on her face that nope, these weren’t going to make it onto the approved list. So I told her just to swallow that bite, because no southern momma in her right mind is gonna let her child spit food out at the table.

So we sat and sat, those potatoes just turning into nasty saliva-ridden mush in her mouth, until she finally swallowed them – and then proceeded to throw up her entire dinner right at the table.

At that point I wished I had let her spit them out.

But truly, that was the only major mishap in the food testing arena. I knew if I could just get them to taste a new food, they would most likely enjoy it.

And so it is for so many who don’t have a relationship with their Creator. If they would just try building a relationship with Him, they would know how good He is.

“Taste and see that the Lord is good; blessed is the man who takes refuge in Him.” (Psalm 34:5)

Force-feeding Jesus to people doesn’t work. But through our words, our actions, our kindness and our love we can show others that yes, He is good. And maybe, just maybe, they’ll give Him a try. 

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

Leave a Reply

