Golf Momma

I’ve been a golf girlfriend, a golf wife (thankfully I still hold that title) and now I’m a golf momma. So I’ve walked an unknown amount of golf holes, driven countless golf carts and watched hundreds of rounds of golf. But here’s the funny thing – other than the driver and the putter, I could no more tell you what club my son should or will hit on a shot than I could explain the theory of relativity to you at any given moment. My job on the course is simple: provide food, encouragement, and sometimes a little verbal spanking when necessary.

In the last two weeks alone I’ve watched approximately 24 hours of golf. That’s one whole day of my life walking (for the most part) and watching. And I can just tell you walking four or five hours a day will 1)wear you flat-out in 1000% humidity-infused southern summer and 2)provide you with a whole bunch of time without anyone else around. So I prayed. A lot.

golf flag

If a cartoonist had drawn a conversation bubble above my head, you would have seen these prayers:
“Lord, please let him make this putt.”
“Lord, thank you for his abilities.”
“OK, Jesus can you help him find his ball over there in the woods so he doesn’t get a penalty?”
“Lord please send a breeze so I don’t die out here on #15.”
“Please, Lord help him continue playing like this.”
“Lord get us off this course asap. Please.”
“Jesus help him with his attitude.”
“Lord thank you for giving me this time to watch him.”

It was sort of a roller coaster prayer session, because as I tweeted last week golf is a funny – and a not-so funny – kind of game. But God’s will for us is consistent prayer in every situation, as the Apostle Paul wrote in 1 Thessalonians:

“Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” (1 Thessalonians 5:16-18)

We don’t always have hours by ourselves, but we can release little balloon prayers up to heaven all day long no matter what we are doing because consistent prayer is God’s will for us all.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

Leave a Reply

