Confessions of an Obsessive Planner

Saturday’s devotional from Jesus Calling by Sarah Young hit my upside my head like a 2 X 4. And that’s how God seems to get my attention when a thump on the back of the head doesn’t seem to work.

My husband and I had spent some time looking at our fall schedule which quite frankly made me freak out a little. It looks like it will be busier than the summer, which I thought wasn’t possible. But it is.

So yep, the calendar filled up with pretty colors. But each color means a commitment of time and money. And each color means details that must be figured out.

Enter the obsessive planner.

It’s not that I don’t trust God to show us how we should spend our time, provide for us or protect us in the craziness of life. It’s just that I’m an obsessive planner (somebody has to figure all the details out, right?) so I have an insatiable need to know how it’s gonna happen, when it’s gonna happen, who it’s gonna happen with and so on. Obsessive planners like me need all the details so they can be in control and manipulate all the pieces of the puzzle to fit together so that everyone gets where they need to be when they need to be there with all the stuff needed. (It’s also called being a momma. It’s what we do.)

God love my husband. We plotted out the next few months, he shut down his iPad and was off to watching American Ninja Warrior with my son. Me? I stared and stared at iCal as if God was going to create an 8th day just for me and sync it with my color coded calendar.

calendar_clipart_by_Etenar

He didn’t.

So back to Jesus Calling. This would be the line that jolted me out of my master planner mode on Saturday: “Vast quantities of time and energy are wasted in obsessive planning. When you let Me (Jesus) direct your steps, you are set free to enjoy Me and to find what I have prepared for you this day.”

I know I do it. I know I spend way too much time planning what might happen instead of enjoying what is happening.

“This is the day the Lord has made. We will rejoice and be glad in it.” (Psalm 118:24)

Making plans is OK – I can’t just go through life wandering from one day to the next with no plan at all. The problem isn’t in planning – it’s in obsessive planning.

So I’m going to try to dial it down a notch in the planning department (which will both delight and frighten my family). And I’m looking forward to rejoicing in today instead of obsessing about tomorrow.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

Leave a Reply

