Do I Talk Too Much?

Monday my whole house was quiet starting at about 7:30 a.m. I spent about an hour talking to Jesus – it was an awesome time of reconnecting. This summer has been quite hectic to say the least and I have missed that time of just dishing out everything including the kitchen sink to the One who loves and understands every bit of me.

And at the end I got to laughing as I thanked Him for always listening. See I love my husband and as husbands go, he ranks up there with the best. But let’s face it ladies, even if you have Mr. Almost Perfect at your side, you can – at times – talk him to death.

It’s no surprise most men tune us out after 20 minutes – or less. A study by the University of Maryland’s College of Medicine found that on average, women speak about 20,000 words per day. The average man only speaks only 7,000 words per day. What’s a man supposed to do with the extra 13,000???

Yes, Jesus was a man. But He’s also the Son of God so thankfully I can’t talk Him to death. He listens to every single solitary word I say. He never gets the “If she would just quit talking for a minute” look on His face. He never tries to look over my head to see the Top 10 plays on ESPN. And for you guys, Jesus never lets his mind wander to which outfit He’ll wear to dinner or think about that awesome pair of wedges He scored on sale. (And no, I’m not talking about golf wedges. Shoes, men – wedges are shoes.)

 Wedges

When you talk to Jesus, you need to imagine Jesus looking intently in your eyes the whole entire time you are talking, because that’s what He does.

It’s almost too much to wish for.

But we don’t have to wish because it’s who He is. “The Lord is near to all who call on him, to all who call on him in truth.” (Psalm 146:18)

Go dish it to the One who listens and cares about every single word. And today I thank Jesus for listening to every word I say every day – all 20,000!

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

Leave a Reply

