Found Them!

A large blue bowl – part of a set – had been missing for weeks.

Blue Bowl

A gray towel – again, part of a set – couldn’t be found Saturday.

And then Saturday night my son asked me where his white shorts were (yes, the ones I continually spray with Clorox to get the black golf ball marker stain out of them) and they were nowhere to be found.

At some point Saturday I resigned myself to the fact that yes, I’m slowly slipping into madness. I had successfully hidden three items from myself – why I would torture me like that I don’t know, but apparently I like to play practical jokes on myself… like I don’t have enough craziness to deal with…

I have other bowls, other towels, more shorts. I’m not infatuated with the blue bowl. The towels aren’t high end (who puts high end towels in their kids’ bathroom?). And if the white shorts never turned up that would be one less laundry crisis to deal with.

But I couldn’t stop looking. I was gonna find them if it took me all day (night, week)…

In the heavenly realm each one of us is a blue bowl, a gray towel, a pair of white shorts. The world’s population is around 7.25 billion, but Jesus doesn’t say, “Oh well, I don’t really need a Leigh, (or a Jack, or a Mary, or a Steven) because there’s 7.25 billion people to take her place, and any one of them will do just fine.”

Every single person is important to Jesus.  YOU are important to Jesus.

“Look at it this way. If someone has a hundred sheep and one of them wanders off, doesn’t he leave the ninety-nine and go after the one? And if he finds it, doesn’t he make far more over it than over the ninety-nine who stay put? Your Father in heaven feels the same way. He doesn’t want to lose even one of these simple believers.” (Matthew 18:12-14, The Message)

In this parable Jesus is the great shepherd who looks for that one lost sheep. He promises to look for the one who is lost because every soul matters to Him. I guess you could say Jesus is the original “No man left behind” guy.

Do you feel lost? Overwhelmed? Alone?

Jesus is searching for you.

Because you matter to Him.

But Jesus is a gentleman – He’s not going to bust up in your life – you’re gonna have to ask Him into your heart. He’s searching and waiting – it’s your move.

Make the most important move of your life. Today.

P.S. Just to prove I ain’t totally senile yet, one by one, the missing were found. The blue bowl? At the Nana’s house. (Neither she nor I could remember why it was there, so back to slipping into madness…) The gray towel? Scrunched behind a stack of beach towels that my son shoved onto a shelf (I give him a B+ for effort). White shorts? In the drawer with gym shorts (so I was close, but not quite on that laundry put-away-task).

Blessings from my slightly crazy world!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

Leave a Reply

