The Passport

Yesterday my daughter and I went to the local justice center to apply for a passport for her. She’s thinking about going to Nicaragua on a mission trip (I’m in serious prayer over that one) so yep, she would need a passport.

passport

If you’ve ever gone to a government office and gotten what you needed on the first try, I’d like to meet you because I’ve never had that experience. Ever. I think finding Bigfoot, seeing a unicorn or stumbling across the pot of gold at the end of a rainbow are all much more likely to happen than getting what you need from that person behind the government counter the first go ‘round.

But I was determined that yesterday would be different.  I had it all – or so I thought.   Filled out application? Check. Birth certificate? Check. Driver’s License, two checks for payment and a 2 X 2 photo? Check, check, check. I was ready.

And then it happened… again.

Passport application must be filled out in black ink only. Strike one.
You cannot use white out on the passport application. Strike two.
The photo must have a plain white background. Strike three – I’m outta there.

I’m so thankful Jesus doesn’t require me to kneel a certain way, say the right words and sing praises to Him on key. Instead of walking up to the cross and being turned away because I don’t have it exactly right, Jesus opens His arms wide and takes my words, my praise, my prayers just as they are.

“Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.” (Hebrews 4:16)

Approach the throne with confidence that you will not be turned away, you will not have to redo your prayers. And while you’re there, thank Him for his endless mercy and grace, for taking you and loving you just the way you are.

And I’ll be back at the justice center today… hoping to conquer the enemy known as the government agency line of torture.  Say a prayer for me!

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

One thought on “The Passport

Leave a Reply

