I’ve Got You On My Mind

I’ve got a group of people still on my mind – all you mommas (and daddies) of first time college students. Just can’t shake you – I feel like you are all following me around, everywhere I go. (Creepy, right?)

Last year I walked in your shoes. I don’t want to go all Kardashian (i.e. overly dramatic), but I had a few rough days those first few weeks. (OK, let’s be real. I struggled. BIG TIME.)

You wait on her to get home from school, but she doesn’t walk through the door.
You walk past a dark bedroom, missing the door being closed, light on, knowing he was just on the other side.
You watch your favorite TV show alone, wishing you could laugh and comment with her for that hour.
You sit in church without him sitting next to you, wishing you could discuss the message with him on the way home.

It all fills strange – at first. Your family unit as you know it is down one. And a piece of your heart, your soul, your energy is missing because you left a hunk of who you are with your child in their dorm room.

empty dorm room

So many reasons run through my head of why these first couple of weeks are so hard. Separation – lack of information – the unknown – no identity of your own – can all combine to leave you feeling alone, out of the loop, at loose ends (at least that’s how I felt, even though I still have one at home). You go about your day as normal, but it doesn’t feel normal at all.

Time doesn’t heal all wounds, but Jesus does. Through constant prayer, semi-constant tears and a true desire to find that “new normal,” I found it. I still miss her every day, and every once in awhile I have a few tears. But I want to encourage all you newbies out there who are struggling to stay close to Jesus as you work through the emotions of letting go…

“And surely I am with you always, even to the very end of the age.” (Matthew 28:20)

“So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” (Isaiah 41:10)

Tape those to your mirror if you need instant encouragement. My prayer for you all today is that you will experience comfort and peace that only Jesus can provide in the midst of your emotional upheaval.

Blessings to you all ~
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

2 thoughts on “I’ve Got You On My Mind

  1. I just stumbled across your blog and it struck a chord with me. I’m over in the UK where students are just going off to University. My nephew has left for London and it brought back the emotions that I felt some years ago when my own children left for University. Your comments are solid spiritual advice for anyone going through this period of their life. God bless.

Leave a Reply

