Three More Years

After I posted my blog to the newbies on Tuesday my heart immediately went to the empty-nesters, those without children at home for the first time.  And then shortly after that I got a tweet from a momma who is now an empty-nester for the first time.

I don’t know what that feels like because I’m not there – yet. Three more years though, and I’ll join the ranks of the “WE’RE FRRREEEEEEE!” group of parents.

I’m not gonna lie – I’m not ready for that. At all.

Maybe I will be in 3 years, but I seriously doubt it.

It’s one thing to have one dark, empty bedroom where a body used to be most every night. But two? A totally dark, empty second floor in this house?

No thank you. I don’t think so.

But that day is coming, and it will get her sooner than I want, whether I’m ready or not. That’s the sad and awesome thing about having kids – you don’t get to keep them forever.

(Now for those of you with grown kids still living in your basement, well, that’s a whole other blog post…)

So when I get there, I’ll write about it. In the meantime I am so encouraged by you who have crossed over to “the other side” and still have your wits about you! (Some more than others…BAHAHAHA!!!)

And if you don’t have kids, or your kids are grown, or your kids are young, if you know someone is a new empty-nester, give ‘em a call and go to dinner with them. They could probably use a little more social life now that they’ve got all this “free time.” Some may be celebrating, but most – if honest – are feeling a little lost, a little lonely with no children at home anymore.

Empty Nest

“Just like lotions and fragrance give sensual delight, a sweet friendship refreshes the soul.” (Proverbs 27:9, The Message)

Love to all of you empty-nesters out there – you inspire me! Keep praying, keep trusting, keep serving ‘cause your children are still watching you – even though their bedrooms are (temporarily) vacant.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

Leave a Reply

