A Day Off

Last Wednesday morning during my quiet time I looked up to heaven and said, “Jesus – I just want a normal day. A day off, if you don’t mind.”

A day off of what? LIFE???

And I fantasized about a normal day – you know, a day where nothing was on my calendar, no meetings, no appointments, no school functions, no work obligations, no urgent emails, no crises.

Who am I kidding? That ain’t normal. That’s absurd. My normal looks more like a day of carpooling, writing emails, returning phone calls, serving at church, volunteering at school, grocery store shopping, cooking dinner – and that’s just my Tuesday. All of the other days of the week are some other deviation of that schedule, and I’m guessing so is yours.

To Do List

I think what I was really needing was a little comfort, a little breather from the craziness of life. It only took a few minutes of focusing upward instead of inward to get my head and my heart on the right track. Focusing on Jesus has that effect – it’s so much easier to look forward to what’s ahead rather than dread it. I can meet obligations and demands with a steadier mindset when I spend time in the morning seeking God’s will for my day and thanking Him in advance for being with me every step, no matter how chaotic the day may be.

“The Lord give strength to his people; the Lord blesses his people with peace.” (Psalm 29:11)

Nowhere in the Bible does God promise us a day of “nothing.” What He does promise is to be with us – to never leave us – and when I actually put constant prayer and reliance on Him into practice I experience the peace that is promised throughout God’s Word.

“The Lord himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.”  (Deuteronomy 31:8)

So I’m going to try to look at my craziness as normal. My normal may be more or less crazy than your normal, but it’s mine. And I’m going to quit asking for a day off, ‘cause I think I’d have to be in a coma for that to happen… and ain’t nobody got time for that!

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

One thought on “A Day Off

Leave a Reply

