Are You Listening?

The other morning I was awake (again) from around 3:15 to 4:30 or so. These middle of the night wide awake sessions make me long for my days of youth, when I could lie down and sleep continually for hours on end.

My mind usually wanders all over the place, from praying for people to thinking about what I’ve got to do that day to pleading with Jesus to knock me out before I have to get up in a couple of hours.

And that morning I asked the 3 letter question I so often ask my Creator: “Why?”

“Why can’t I sleep all night? Why can’t I get back to sleep? Whyyyyyy?

And this is what I heard back:

“Because you aren’t listening.”

Uh oh. I might have been somewhat awake before that, but now I was at full attention. I felt like Jesus had just jerked a knot in my head. My prayers shifted from my honey-do list for Jesus to figuring out what I was missing. Just what did He want me to hear?

Listening

“Focus on me.”

And instantly my head was filled with what needed to focus on Him: my mind, my day, my thoughts, my prayers, my everything. Too often I’m so honed in on telling Jesus what I want Him to do, what I need Him to do, that I forget to focus on Him alone.

He deserves my total focus. And there’s nothing like a gentle (or a not so gentle) reminder at 4:15 in the morning to remind me. And guess what? When I focused on Jesus instead of all the other crazy things going on in the world, I fell fast asleep again (well, at least until that dang alarm clock went off…). I literally repeated His sweet name over and over until the problems of the oncoming day faded away.

“Since, then, you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is seated at the right hand of God. Set your minds on things above not on earthly things.” (Colossians 3:1, 2)

Focus on Jesus.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

Leave a Reply

