She’s Missing

Today I had to deliver some t-shirts to the elementary wing of our school. As I drove to the front of the school I watched a small group of 5th graders lower and fold the American flag with care and dignity. While in the elementary building I held the door of the teacher workroom open so another group of young students could take the recycling out to where it needed to go. While that group exited the workroom I spied a class of 2nd graders returning from a trip to the library. And that’s when I had a moment – a momma flashback moment.

I could see her walking down the hallway in a yellow floral sleeveless top and matching skort, glasses framing her sweet face, her smile a mixture of baby and grown-up teeth. Her blonde hair was cut chin length, bangs covering the birthmark on her forehead that I repeatedly told her were angel kisses. She carried a monogrammed backpack on her shoulders, and her Keds were still as white as the day we bought them.

Today I didn’t miss the almost adult, sorority sophomore college student. No, today as I stood in that hallway and saw a faint reminder of my little girl walking toward me, I missed my little girl.

2002 Field Day

I’ve been in those hallways countless times, including just about every day this school year. Why this flashback hit me today I don’t know – but sometimes memories just flood your mind and your spirit and you have no way of knowing why or how to stop them.

And I realized that I get so caught up in the here and now I can lose my past if I’m not careful. I’m not saying we should live in the past, but if we don’t occasionally let our minds drift backwards we can lose a little part of our families, our hearts, our story.

So I took a minute to remember an ordinary day when I watched my little girl skip down that same hallway and disappear into her 2nd grade room, giggling with a friend and saying good morning to her teacher. As I left the elementary building with a few tears welling up as a reminder of a precious time now gone, I thanked God for the blessings of my family and for all the time He gave me with her and her brother while they were growing up.

Many days we see as ordinary when they are happening only to realize much later on how significant they really were.

“This is the day the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.” (Psalm 118:24)

So as you go about your day today, thank God for the ordinary. One day you may look back and realize how important that day really was.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

Leave a Reply

