Call Me Sherman

Saturday was a dream come true for a southern football lovin’ OCD momma like me. Throughout this hectic summer I had thrown miscellaneous stuff in my playroom, in the playroom closet, in the one tiny storage closet I have and the guestroom closet. (Can you say too much stuff?) Anything from thick foam squares I bought for reinforcing my stadium seats to weird clothing my daughter is saving for a possible sorority swap to a lamp that won’t work but my dad can probably fix to clothes to take to the consignment store – and more. My playroom and closets resembled a lonely, sad looking flea market you see on a desolate county road on your way to the beach…

Closet

So Saturday everyone was gone out of the house and football was on all day. (Can I get a Hallelujah?) I attacked that room like Sherman marching his way to Atlanta, victory the only thought in my mind. And once I had the biggest problem (the playroom) taken care of, I straightened out the tiny closet, the guest room closet, got my daughter’s room back together after washing sheets, etc. all while watching the greatest game on earth – college football.

Boy did I feel better.   It took all day, but my time was well spent. You can now go into the playroom without fear of tripping over some miscellaneous article of clothing or stuff that we really don’t need but must keep. You can open a closet without fear of being buried by the contents like an unsuspecting skier caught in an avalanche.

We so often need to spend time cleaning out our spiritual closet as well. But we get busy with life’s demands, thinking I’ll get to that later… in the fall… next year…

If we want a clean slate with Jesus, we need to start by cleaning out the junk in our lives. Unforgiveness, shame, addiction, idolatry – anything that might cause us to stumble needs to be acknowledged and rooted out of our lives. How? First spend time asking Jesus what needs to be cleaned up in your life. He will answer you. Next, humbly confess it to Him and repent so that you can then experience His grace as He washes away your sin.

“If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.” (1 John 1:9)

If we don’t spend some time cleaning up our messes, we will live in them. But we don’t have to live with a cluttered spirit thanks to the One who has overcome it all.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

One thought on “Call Me Sherman

Leave a Reply

