Footsteps

All my life I’ve been blessed to spend time with my family on the beautiful, white-sand beaches of the Gulf of Mexico. I grew up spending many summer vacations in Gulf Shores or Orange Beach with my sister, parents, and occasionally my grandmother. My family was the typical family on a beach vacation – we built sand castles, swam in the water (that was before Shark Week got everybody so freaked out), and took long walks on the shoreline looking for unusual seashells of every size and color.

Many times on these walks I would see footsteps ahead of me, footsteps much larger than my own. Instead of walking I would leap from one imprint to the next, trying to stay in step with the one who went ahead of me. If I was too slow or got distracted by a tiny sand crab or people playing on the beach those footprints in the sand would be washed away by the surf, never to be seen again.

 footsteps

“Since we live by the Spirit, let us keep in step with the Spirit.” (Galatians 5:25)

Those of us who claim to be followers of Christ should be looking for the larger imprints from the One who goes before us. As we take our leaps of faith from one step to the next we keep in step with our Creator. When we dawdle in this world and get distracted we lose sight of the steps that have been laid out for us to follow.

“I know, O Lord, that a man’s life is not his own; it is not for man to direct his steps.” (Jeremiah 10:23) “A man’s steps are directed by the Lord…” (Proverbs 20:24)

In whose footsteps are you walking?

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

One thought on “Footsteps

Leave a Reply

