Thanks, Yard Guy

Last Wednesday my husband and I FINALLY made it to the beach for a little R&R. No work, no children, no golf, no t-shirt orders, no pets, no cooking, cleaning – just the beach. We had no plans except to sleep in, sit on the beach and eat – A LOT.

I’m far too old to sleep ‘til noon, but I was thinking 8:00 a.m. sounded reasonable if not heavenly.

In the words of Lee Corso, “Not so fast, my friend.” The yard guy made sure we were up EXTRA EARLY so we didn’t miss a moment on the beach! Forget that 8:00 idea – how lame! True vacationers clearly want to be up at 7:00 to start their day!

#NOT

This is going to sound bad – really, really bad. I had the sinful thought of throwing this giant ugly fish made out of driftwood and shells out the window so that it would knock the blower out of yard guy’s hands, scaring him so much that he would run away like a frightened little girl all the way back to his landscaping truck never to return.   Good thing I have no aiming skills (just watch me play tennis) and I do, indeed, throw like a girl (which I am), and was just lazy enough not to put forth the effort.

  photo

But since I was up, it was a good time to spend with Jesus, just praying and listening for His voice. And Jesus never disappoints. He rewarded me with blog ideas, peaceful thoughts and new ways to look at old situations. (Oh and He convinced me to let the ugly fish remain on his perch. Good news for you, oh early annoying yard guy.)

“In the morning, O Lord, you hear my voice; in the morning I lay my requests before you and wait in expectation.” (Psalm 5:3)

So here’s a gentle reminder for us all – get up and start your day with your Creator, no matter where you are, no matter what your circumstances – yes even on vacation. It really is the most important part of your day, the best way to start your day!

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

Leave a Reply

