Beauty of the Stars

Friday night my husband and I walked from the beach condo to Seaside. (Sidebar: if you’ve never vacationed on 30A, you’re missing out. Go book a place there PRONTO.)   Anyway, it was a comfortable night – a little warm, but definitely worth walking and not driving a car.

A small part of the path has pampas grass growing on either side, no street light for illumination. It’s a dark part of the path, but it doesn’t last long.

As we were eating yogurt and walking I looked up and saw what I normally don’t see living in the big city of Auburn. I saw stars. Hundreds of beautiful, twinkling, far away stars providing a canopy of light, just enough for us to walk without stumbling.

I don’t see them in Auburn. Partly because of the big city lights coming from downtown (that’s sarcasm, people) but mostly because I don’t go outside at night and just look at them.

I’ve been missing out.

And what other beautiful parts of creation have I been ignoring or missing? I let the craziness of life overrun God’s gift to us all – the vibrant red beauty of a cardinal, the intricate purple coloring of a hydrangea, the varying shades of yellow and orange on a fall maple leaf. And the stars.

 stars

“And God said, ‘Let there be lights in the expanse of the sky to separate the day from the night…God made two great lights – the greater light to govern the day and the lesser light to govern the night. He also made the stars…God set them in the expanse of the sky to give light on earth…And God saw that it was good.” (Genesis 1:14-18)

So I took a minute and soaked in the beauty of the stars above. And hopefully from now on I will see – really see God’s beautiful creation all around me, and thank Him for it.  Are you like me – too busy to notice God’s splendor all around you?  Maybe it’s time not just to stop and smell the roses, but time to take in their beauty as well.

Blessings!
Leigh

 

One thought on “Beauty of the Stars

  1. I know that same feeling walking around Seaside or sitting on a porch swing just listening. It’s been our escape place for years. A place to breathe.

Leave a Reply

