The Potential of my iPhone

I have an iPhone 4s. I know, I’m so old-school. My technology is so out of date I can’t even download the updates from Apple anymore. It’s so far gone my icons don’t look like anyone else’s. It’s so old people look at me and sneer, snickering behind my back at my brick-sized hot pink LifeProof case full of antiquated technology.

 LifeProof-iPhone-case

(I’ve had other priorities than upgrading a dang phone, in case you don’t read my blog. And in case you do, I won’t rehash them here.)

Honestly, all I really want my phone to do is 1)Be a phone. Yep, call me crazy but I’d actually like to be able to TALK to another person occasionally without sounding like I’m in a well or speaking in Morse Code (C…n —u— g… to l—…ch?) . 2)Text people. Most people under the age of 30 don’t talk to another human unless forced to speak by an older person or all 10 fingers are broken, so yes I need to text. And 3)Play Words with Friends. Some days it’s the only stimulation my brain gets (or can handle) so I like trying to come up with big words that I don’t remember the definitions for but can use to score punishing points against my WWF opponents (Qi – the best use of a Q if you have no U…).

I know I’m not using my phone to it’s fullest potential, even the antiquated potential of a 4s. I don’t really deserve a new iPhone 6 – someone who has 6,734 apps should clearly get in line before me, even though my renewal has been up for about 3 years.

And ya’ know, God has put potential in each one of us. And when we don’t use those gifts He’s placed in us I guess he feels about like the techno-geek looking at me with 3 apps on an iPhone 4s. So much potential there, but I’m not taking advantage of it.

Why don’t we use what He’s given us? Sometimes we don’t even know what our gift is. Some of us don’t think He’s blessed us with a unique talent or ability. And sadly, too many of us don’t care to find out because that would then mean we should actually spend some time figuring out how to use it for the kingdom and good grief, who has time for that?

The Bible clearly says otherwise. “But each man has his own gift from God; one has this gift, another has that.” (1 Corinthians 7:7) “Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God’s grace in its various forms.” (1 Peter 4:10)

I’m no Ann Voskamp, but God has placed in me a desire to write. I was encouraged by a couple of friends a year ago to start a blog, so I took a leap of faith and went for it. And to be honest, it doesn’t really matter to me how many followers I have or reposts or likes. (I didn’t even know how to see those for about 6 months after I started writing the blog.) I write because God put the desire in me to share the good news of Jesus through words sprinkled with a little humor. My prayer is that Jesus will always be glorified through what I write and that at least one person will be affected in a positive way after reading my posts. My prayer is John 17:4 – “I have brought you glory on earth by completing the work you gave me to do.”

So what is your gift? Do you know what it is? Do you know how to use it for His glory?

If you do, keep it up! If you are still struggling with this area I encourage you to get in a church that can help you discover your gift and/or be in prayer about it.

Don’t be like my iPhone – live up to the potential God gave you! Whether you know it or not, whether you believe it or not, you’ve got a gift to share with the world, so get busy!

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

Leave a Reply

