Come on, Ray (Part 1)

If you aren’t a football fan, 1) what is your problem? and 2) you’re just gonna have to get over it for a bit ‘cause the world of football is giving me LIMITLESS blog topics these days. I already gave my take on the Jameis Winston story yesterday, and yep – I got a new one today thanks to former NFL linebacker Ray Lewis.

Let me start by saying my intent is not to rail on Ray Lewis (as easy as he’s making it for me to do just that), but to show how Ray embodies some of the most serious problems we face in our society today.

On last Sunday’s edition of ESPN’s NFL Countdown show, Ray had himself a little rant as he was trying to defend Ravens’ GM Ozzie Newsome in the wake of the mishandling of the Ray Rice video and subsequent internal investigation:

“Sometimes we forget why we’re here. We’re here for one reason and one reason only. We’re here for domestic violence. We’re here because we saw a friend of mine brutally hit his wife in an elevator. There’s some things you can cover up and then there’s some things you can’t.”

Whoa, buddy. Let’s hold on just a minute. What exactly is OK to cover up in your world? Back in 2000 you tried to cover up your involvement in 2 murders, so I guess you would be of the opinion it’s OK to push ugly truths under an old, dirty, oversized rug.

But I’ve learned the hard way that if you’ve got to cover something up, it ain’t good. Ever. I can’t think of a single time that I tried to cover something up that it turned out all peachy-keen. In fact, even if no one else found out what I was trying to hide it didn’t matter because deep down I knew what I did and even worse, God knew.

“But if you fail to do this, you will be sinning against the LORD; and you may be sure that your sin will find you out.” (Numbers 32:23)

Ouch.

Covering up mistakes to escape responsibility and yes, punishment is something children do on a regular basis.  How sad it is to see so many adults who never learn to speak the truth or to own up to their bad decisions and behaviors.

For the love of all that is good and kind, can anyone just stand up and say, “I SCREWED UP!” anymore? Have we all turned into Fonzy, unable to utter the phrase “I was wrr, I was wrrroo, I was wwrrrooon…”

Sin will come out in one form or another. But if we surround ourselves with people who truly love Jesus, who truly love us and truly have our best interest at heart we can quit hiding our mistakes and bring them to light so they can be confessed and forgiven.

Just say it. Confess it. Own it. Pray over it and get healed from it. “Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed.” (James 5:16)

Just stop covering it up.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

Leave a Reply

