God’s Delight

The Lord your God is with you, the Mighty Warrior who saves. 
He will take great delight in you;
 he will quiet you with his love,
 he will rejoice over you with singing.” (Zephaniah 3:17)

After reading that verse I simply sat for a few moments and meditated on how beautiful those words are. I had obviously read it before because it was underlined in my Bible, but the beauty of it struck me as I thought about what that verse meant to me.

God is with me (and you). It doesn’t say He’s with me when I’m a “good girl” or when I am in church – it says He is with me, period. He doesn’t leave me when the going gets tough or when I am disobedient. The Lord my God is with me.

He is the Mighty Warrior who saves me. And let’s face it – if you’re on this earth you need to be saved from someone or something. Fears, past sins and regrets, addictions, attitudes – we all have something that only Jesus can help us overcome.

I felt God’s gentleness as I read, “he will quiet you with his love.” Another translation says, “in his love he will no longer rebuke you.” Both translations simply say to me that God loves me, no matter what. He does not condemn me or rebuke me, but through His love He forgives me and accepts me.

And that’s not all God does for me. He delights in me and rejoices over me with singing. Really? Can I picture God being so happy with me that He is in heaven rejoicing over me with singing? What a beautiful example of His love for me! Reading that just made my day because part of my worship experience is singing praises to Him (alone, of course where no one but my cat can hear me), but I never pictured Him singing about his delight in me.

delight

God is with me. He saves me. He takes delight in me. He doesn’t condemn me. He rejoices over me with singing!

If you don’t spend time in the Word everyday you are missing out. Every day I read my Bible I find a nugget of truth or a promise from God to me like the one I just shared with you today. So I encourage you to spend time reading God’s love letters to you so that you will make beautiful discoveries of your own.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

2 thoughts on “God’s Delight

  1. Pingback: Three Ways To Experience God's Delight In You - Fueling Family Prayer

Leave a Reply

