Is this a joke?

This Can’t Be…

I caught wind of a story yesterday that made me shake my head (SMH in your kid’s texting vocabulary) and think surely, surely this can’t be true.

Tell me we don’t have a steroid-shooting couple using Jesus this way. Tell me a so-called Christian couple hasn’t started a website for swingers, proclaiming they use this lifestyle to promote the gospel.

Someone, please tell me this is a joke. A bad, tasteless joke, but a joke.

But oh, no – it’s no joke. A couple from Florida have started a website for fitness crazed swingers. And they are using Jesus as justification for their actions.

Let me give you a few quotes from the God-fearing Mrs. Parave:

“I feel like right now, this is God’s plan.”
“I don’t think God would be mad at what we are doing. At first I was conflicted but the more we looked at it the more it makes sense to us.”
“I turned my life around, began bodybuilding and now I try to live pure. God has put me here to spread his word and our lifestyle community is a great place to do it.”
“You can’t get closer to someone than having sex with them.”

Oh, where do I start???

Let me start with the commentary I read and heard on this story. I love the stance of “It’s not my place to judge. If they aren’t hurting anybody I don’t care what they do.”

I am really, really tired of this inability to call wrong what it is – wrong. As a Bible believing Christian it’s not my place to judge what others do according to my view – it’s my place to call out what others are doing according to God’s view. And He is very clear on where He stands if we will simply read the Bible.

I could counteract their ridiculous claims with countless references to Scripture. But I don’t have to, because Mrs. Parave’s words condemn her without me having to look up the first verse.

“I feel… At first I was conflicted… I try…” Do you see where I’m going? I, I, I. Me, me, me. Let me clue Mrs. Parave into something. If you are a Christian, you are not to live according to your feelings but according to God’s Word. And if she was conflicted – well, hello Mrs. Parave – that’s the moment you knew it was wrong, you knew you were swinging into the pit of sin and yet you ignored the Holy Spirit and went right on with whatever felt good to you at the moment.

I agree with perhaps her best line of all – “You can’t get any closer to someone than having sex with them.”

Yep, so true. And to degrade the sanctity of marriage in this manner is in no way promoting a Christian lifestyle. These two have allowed satan to come on in and park himself right in the middle of their world masked as God’s will for their lives.

Do you ever wonder how deviant behaviors of all kind are now widely accepted in America? Look no further than Bible believing Christians who won’t stand up for what is right and what is wrong – again not based on our personal views but what the Bible says.

“Those who live according to the sinful nature have their minds set on what that nature desires, but those who live in accordance with the Spirit have their minds set on what the Spirit desires. The mind of sinful man is death, but the mind controlled by the Spirit is life and peace; the sinful mind is hostile to God. It does not submit to God’s law, nor can it do so. Those controlled by the sinful nature cannot please God.” (Romans 8:5-8)

Mind Peace

I’m praying that at some point the Paraves will quit living by their feelings and live by God’s word, or if they choose to continue to live by their feelings they quit using Christianity as their justification.

‘Cause this is no joke.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

One thought on “Is this a joke?

Leave a Reply

