That’s Shocking!

Let’s be honest – we all have bad habits – at least one. Do you bite your nails? Drink too many Diet Cokes? Skip exercising? Well I have the answer for you.

The Pavlok.

What is a Pavlok you ask? It is an electronic wristband that delivers an electric shock to help you break your bad habits. It’s fashioned after the research that Ivan Pavlov did on classical conditioning, attempting to break you of your no-no list by getting your brain to associate pain with the habit you’d like to let go.

 Pavlok1

I don’t know about you, but I feel bad enough when I skip walking my dog or I make fun of some young girl who want’s to be “sexy” on her wedding day while I’m watching SYTTD. I surely don’t need to be zapped with a low-voltage confirmation shock every time I fall short. For heaven’s sake there are days I’d look like I was having a seizure every 5 minutes and I’m fairly certain that can’t be good for a 47-year old, overused and slightly warped mind.

Nope, no thank you.

And besides, until they come up with one that controls your mind (which is a creepy thought but some mad scientist is probably working on that out there somewhere) I’m not investing in one. I need one that zaps me every time I think an ugly thought about somebody or indulge in over-excessive planning. Then we’ve got something!

I’ve found the more time I spend in God’s Word – the more I read, study, pray – the more worship music I listen to – the quicker the shock comes to mind when I mess up. It’s not automatic, but the “Oh, shoot Jesus I’m sorry” does happen more than it used to. And that’s not to say I screw up more or less than in the past but I’m much more aware of when I mess up and I have a desire to immediately repent and make it right with the only One who forgives all sins.

“If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.” (1 John 1:9)

I’m extremely grateful God doesn’t zap us every time we mess up. Instead He offers His forgiveness and His love when we realize our mistakes and confess them to Him.

No shock needed.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

Leave a Reply

