Living on Long Island

I don’t live on Long Island. In fact, I live very far away from Long Island in the Bible Belt. As in, I live in the all-out belt buckle of the Bible Belt, protected by Southern Baptists on one side and the Methodist Hymnal on the other.

So I don’t know a lot about Long Island, except this is now the second year in a row administrators from Ward Melville High School are attempting to deny the establishment of a Christian club in their school.

ward melville

WMHS tried to stop the club from forming last year, but attorneys from the Liberty Institute got involved and threatened to sue. Hey, if you can have a fishing club, why can’t you have a Christian club? Where’s their preaching on tolerance now? (I have to admit, I love the “tolerant” group having to drink some shut-up juice on this one…)

I’m proud of the 17 year old who founded the club, John Raney. He will not cower to the administration and has contacted the Liberty Institute yet again to make sure his rights and the rights of other Christians are protected. I’m also proud of John’s parents – people I don’t know and will never know personally – for raising a son who loves Jesus enough to stand up for Him in the face of this uphill, treacherous battle.

Where I live Christian clubs are all over the place. We are both blessed and cursed by them. Blessed because it’s easy and popular to be a part of a Christian group; cursed because we all too often take them for granted.

Kudos to John Raney (and his parents). “Whoever acknowledges me before men, I will also acknowledge him before my Father in heaven.” (Matthew 10:32)

Oh – and a verse for the administrators: “But whoever disowns me before men, I will disown him before my Father in heaven.” (Matthew 10:33)

Keep the faith, John Raney.

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

2 thoughts on “Living on Long Island

  1. Dear Leigh,
    Thank You so much for your article about my son John. Thank You for your complements to his Dad & I. Glory to God, he is a blessing to many : )
    If you haven’t heard yet- the school has reversed their decision, and will allow Students United In Faith to meet !
    God Bless you & continue the good work !
    Trudy Raney Fischer

    • What an honor to hear from you personally Trudy! I hope that by writing about your story more people will know what is going on around us in America and have the courage to stand up for our rights as Christians. God bless you and your family!

Leave a Reply

