The Mississippi/Alabama Line

I always think it’s gonna get easier. I always think I’m past these feelings, that I’m better, that I’m used to it. I constantly play out the scene in my head long before it happens, having full confidence I can do it this time.

Nope. Once again I failed miserably.

Only in this area I don’t mind failing at all. In fact, maybe something would be wrong with me if I didn’t fail.

I went to Oxford, MS to be with my daughter on her 20th birthday. (She thinks that sounds old. I told her just wait until you are 47…) We enjoyed a weekend together, not doing much of anything except eating A LOT and yes, watching football. (Congrats, Mississippi State – y’all definitely deserve that #1 ranking after what I saw.)

Anyway, as with all visits, the time comes when one person has to leave to go back to where they came from. This time it was my turn to leave and I already had it pictured in my head – a quick hug and a kiss, I get into my car and drive out of town with a happy smile on my face.

That’s not exactly how it played out.

I hugged her a little too long. I really think that’s what started it because then I didn’t want to let go. I wanted to rewind the years back to when I brought her home from the hospital. (Ok, maybe not that far back – those first 6 weeks of new life are enough to make a saint lose her religion…) As I squeeze her with the death grip of a child squeezing her favorite teddy bear the tears start rolling, and I knew I had failed once again.

I fought them back as long as I could, which was about to the end of the parking lot. Good thing for me I had a 5 hour drive in front of me and I was wearing mascara. You can’t drive with mascara running down your face, getting in your eyes and covering your contacts. I should know.

So I had small outbursts of tears, wiped away with the one napkin I located in the glove box in my car. And I felt that depression looming large over me, like the ominous dark grey cloud that seemed to be following me out of Mississippi.

Somewhere around the Mississippi/Alabama state line my mood lifted.

AL sign

Now it didn’t magically get better by itself, but my mood lifted because I poured out my heart to Jesus for a couple of hours and let Him work in my thoughts and in my spirit. My mood went from one of sadness and loneliness to one full of peace and joy. I can’t explain it except that I truly felt “the peace of God that transcends all understanding.” (Philippians 4:7)

So I’m a failure and proud of it. But I’m also victorious, because I claimed and experienced God’s peace when I surely couldn’t find it on my own.

So here’s my prayer for you all today: “May the Lord bless you and keep you; may the Lord make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; may the Lord turn his face toward you and give you peace.” (Numbers 6:24-26) 

Blessings!
Leigh

You can follow me on Twitter @LeighThompsonAU and enjoy my sometimes inspirational, sometimes humorous, sometimes quirky Tweets!

3 thoughts on “The Mississippi/Alabama Line

  1. I didn’t understand why my mother in law cried every time we left her house after a visit. Now as I only have one kiddo left at home I COMPLETELY understand. Your heart feels whole for those moments you are all together & then when one of you leaves so does a little piece of your heart! I think sometimes we are so focused on preparing them to leave/survive that we forget to prepare us to survive having them leave. But God is always better than I am with taking care of all the details!

Leave a Reply

